The One to Count On...

Swindell Wins Front Row Challenge

Posted: Tuesday, August 11th, 2009 at 8:15 am

It was a long night of racing in Oskaloosa last night at the annual Front Row Challenge. A short but heavy downpour of rain moved through around 9:30pm forcing an over three hour delay to re prep the track. When the final checkered flag finally fell just after 2am Sammy Swindell went to victory lane, Joey Saldana, Craig Dollansky, Donny Schatz and Lance Deweese rounded out the top five. Deweese was the fastest in qualifying at 15.231 followed by Erin Crocker, Daryn Pittman, Shane Stewart and Dale Blaney. Heat race winners included Bronson Maeschen, Wayne Johnson, Jack Dover and Sam Hafertepe Jr. Pittman won the B main. Tonight is the Ultimate Challenge at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa featuring USAC non wing sprint cars and several locals taking the wings off. J.J. Yeley is also expected to join the field.