The One to Count On...

Terry McCarl Makes History by Winning His 3rd 360 Nationals

Posted: Monday, August 10th, 2009 at 3:38 pm

Terry McCarl made history Saturday night by becoming the first driver to win the Knoxville 360 Nationals three times. McCarl lead all 25 laps of the feature race and even had to endure a late race yellow and red flag. Wayne Johnsonwho won the Thursday Night preliminary battled Billy Alley for second and thirdJohnson took second with Alley third, Jason Johnson and Brian Brown completed the top five. McCarl said it was extra special to win the 360 Nationals for the third timeIf that wasnt enough, McCarl also won the 410 A-Main making it back-to-back 410 victories at Knoxville and 4 overall race victories in a row at Knoxville heading into next weeks Super Clean Knoxville Nationals. Brian Brown, Johnny Hererra, Skip Jackson and Billy Alley completed the top five in the 410 A main. With his two wins Saturday night McCarl is the overall point leader in the 2009 Cox Design and Metal Fabrication Iowa Speedweeks point championship which will crown Mr. Sprint Car. Brian Brown, Billy Alley, Johnny Hererra, and Kaley Gharst round out the top 5 in points.