The One to Count On...

2009 City Candidates in Marion County

Posted: Sunday, September 20th, 2009 at 6:26 am

The results are in for area city council and mayoral candidates. Knoxville City Clerk Jody Meyer told KNIA/KRLS News earlier this week Don Zoutte and Martin Duffy are running for Knoxville mayor. Both say they are excited to be in the race. Incumbents Elsie Kemp and Dave Roozeboom, as well as Tina VandeKamp and Brian Shimek are running for the two council seats with four year terms. Incumbent Lori Beary, as well as April Verwers, Carolyn Formanek, and Larry Steele are running for the two open council seats with two-year terms.

In Pella, incumbent Mark De Jong, and David Vander Horst and Daniel Spotten are all running for the at-large council seat. Pella incumbents Dan Vander Beek and Bruce Schiebout are running uncontested in wards 1 and 3, respectively.

Mayor – Jason Anthony
Council 2 year term – Aaron Hurt,
Council 4 year term – John Franey
Council 4 year term – Jordan Van Ness

Mayor – Louis Karpan
– Amos Spoon

City Council (2 seats open at four year terms)
-Joseph Clark
-Douglas Bauer
-Arthur Seddon
-Barbara Van-Wyk
-Adam Wadle

Mayor: Douglas Duinink (incumbent) and Brian Briles
Council: John Vriezelaar (incumbent), James Breckenridge
David Pendroy (incumbent), Al Buechler
• council seats are at-large and for 4-year terms.

Mayor: Bradley Hanson
Larry Pinegar

Council 2-year-term: Albert Bregar Jr.
Shantelle Thomas

Council, 2 seats at 4-year-terms: Stephanie Sterner
Joseph Kurimski
Randy Duncan