The One to Count On...

Marion County Gets Disaster Declaration

Posted: Friday, September 4th, 2009 at 6:28 am

Marion County has been declared a contiguous disaster county, and area farmers are encouraged to apply for the low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency. That’s according to Marion County Emergency Management Coordinator Jeff Anderson. 57 Iowa counties received the declaration, due to the severe storms, hail, and flooding that occurred between May 15 and July 31, 2009. Anderson encourages residents to contact their local Farm Service Agency to apply or for more information.