The One to Count On...

Bloomquist Wins His 2nd Late Model Nationals..Tony Stewart 7th

Posted: Monday, October 5th, 2009 at 6:39 am


Scott Bloomquist took the lead on lap 65 and held it for the remainder of the race as he became the first driver to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals for a second time. Shannon Babb who started on the pole ran away for the first 63 laps and looked like he had the field covered but Bloomquist saying he was patient and waiting for the car to come to him flew by Babb out of turn four after the two battled for several laps. Bloomquist said winning this event for the second time and being the first driver to do it means a lot. Billy Moyer was second with Tim McCreadie, Brady Smith, and Josh Richards completing the top five. Tony Stewart who won the NASCAR Sprint Cup race in Kansas City just hours earlier, made it back to Knoxville but missed time trials and heat races. After arriving he did run a short hot lap session and blew his motor ater turning the fastest lap of the 64 car field . Stewart’s crew was able to get the motor changed just in time to get him out to tag the tail of the 100 lap A-main in 28th starting position. Stewart ran mid pack for much of the race but made a late race charge to finish 7th after a hard battle with Brian Birkhofer who finished 6th. Also, fellow NASCAR driver Ryan Newman was able to tag the A main starting 27th but puled in to the pits early finishing 22nd, Kenny Schrader was 16th in the B-Main.