- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Four Marion County Nurses Named Among Iowa’s Best

A handful of nurses from local hospitals have been selected as finalists for the 100 Great Iowa Nurses honor. Alyssa Clark, a Registered Nurse at the Knoxville Hospital and Clinics will be honored at an awards ceremony later this spring.

Clark was one of nine nurses from the Knoxville Hospital and Clinics to be nominated for the honor. Knoxville’s other nominees were: Melody Abell, Diana Carlson, Heather Cook, Cheryl James, Kellie Jones, Jane Kruger, Deb Lefler, and Amy Zoutte.

Pella Regional Health Center had three out of seven nominees that were chosen to the 2010 Class of 100 Great Iowa Nurses. Carrie Kelderman, an Obstetrics Nurse; Ronda Reimer, Special Projects Coordinator; and Nancy Zylstra, Director of Perioperative Services are all finalists for the honor. Other nominees from Pella Regional included:

Carla Chow, RN, Director of Emergency Department
Sherri Church, RN, Emergency Nurse
Janice Graham, RN, Wound Care Nurse
Kathy Sokol, RN, Clinical Analyst

The 100 Great Iowa Nurses represent many sectors of health care, including hospitals, long-term care facilities and school and office nurses. All 100 nurses will be recognized for the efforts during an awards ceremony in Des Moines during Nurses Week on May 2nd.