The One to Count On...

Local Seniors to be Recognized by Governor

Posted: Sunday, April 25th, 2010 at 6:25 am


Over 400 high school seniors, including at least one from every school in the Marion County area will be honored Sunday at the Eighth Annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony. The honored seniors were selected by their high schools as their highest academic achievers. The honorees from our area schools are:

Jamie Chambers – Knoxville
Evan Mitchell – Melcher-Dallas
Paige Myers – PCM
Justin Buzick & Todd Wegter – Pella
Samuel De Nooy – Pella Christian
Trisha Collins – Pleasantville
Lindsey Hoehns – Twin Cedars

Governor Chet Culver will host the event, with Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Lang and Iowa High School Athletic Association Executive Director Richard Wulkow also offering comments. 2010 Teacher of the Year, Sarah Wessling of Johnston High School, is the keynote speaker. In addition to being recognized as the state’s brightest students, over 99 percent of the group participates in school activities, and to date, 61 percent plan to continue their education in Iowa. The ceremony will be held at the Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines, starting at 1:00 p.m.