The One to Count On...

All LHC Softball Teams Announced

Posted: Friday, July 23rd, 2010 at 5:57 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports-Jamie Brockman

The success on the softball field this summer has paid off as several local athletes have earned All Little Hawkeye Conference honors.

Co-Conference champs Pella and Pella Christian dominated the voting each placing three players on the first team and two on the second team. Knoxville also placed two players on the first team.

To nobody’s surprise, Pella Christian pitcher Paige Blom and Pella pitcher Mandy Demeulenaere were each named to the first team. Other first team honorees for Pella included Whitney Williams and Whitney Pavlat . For Pella Christian, Ashley Van Kooten and Heather Van Zant were first teamers and for Knoxville Kelsey Kingery and Ashley Conrad were voted to the first team.

Second team selections included from Pella Rachel Greving and Lisa Houser, and from Pella Christian Taylor Stursma and Shelby Weaver.

Players receiving Honorable Mention included from Knoxville Kylie Bishop and Katie Ayers, from Pella Christian Courtney Van Kooten and Sami Veenstra and from Pella Mackenzie Anthony and Taylor Veenstra.

After a very competitive season the final Little Hawkeye Conference standings saw Pella and Pella Christian share the title, each finishing 11-3 followed by Norwalk at 9-5, then Newton, at 7-6, Oskaloosa 6-7, Grinnell 6-8, Knoxville 4-9, and South Tama 0-13.