The One to Count On...

President Obama Declares Federal Disaster Proclamation for 33 Iowa Counties

Posted: Friday, July 30th, 2010 at 6:30 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS News-Samantha Smith

President Barack Obama issued a major disaster proclamation Thursday afternoon for 33 Iowa Counties, including Marion. This means that federal aid will be ordered to supplement both state and local government recovery efforts in counties that have been affected by severe weather including flooding, wind damage and tornados since June 1st. In addition, all counties in Iowa are eligible to apply for the Hazard Mitigation Grant, which provides assistance to help prevent or reduce the long-term risks of damage to life and property. Marion County Emergency Management Coordinator Jeff Anderson says the county is still awaiting word from President Obama on whether or not we will be approved for Individual Assistance as well.