- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Vilsack Declares 20 Iowa Counties Agricultural Disaster Areas

Marion County is one of 20 in the state of Iowa that has been designated disaster areas by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack. The declaration comes after assessments on crop and agriculture losses in Iowa and makes assistance available to agriculture producers. Farm operators are eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency including emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program. Producers who believe they qualify should contact the Farm Service Agency at 641-842-3168.