- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Final Preliminary 2010 Marion County Election Results

Republican candidates were successful across the board here in Marion County for this year’s midterm election. A total of 13,094 votes were cast in the county, equal to 53.28% of total registered voters. In the Governor’s race former governor Republican Terry Brandstad wins in Marion County with 60.92% of total votes. For the U.S. Senate Republican incumbent Charles Grassley won with 71.55%. The U.S House of Representatives 3rd District Congressional seat Republican challenger Brad Zaun wins in the county with 54.37% of total votes.

Republican incumbent Jim Van Englenhoven keeps his seat in the Iowa House District 71 with 69.86%. The new Marion County Supervisor is Republican Craig Agan with 61.05%. Republican Ed Bull won the County Attorney race with 61.94% of total votes. Incumbent Denise Emal was the only Democrat to win locally as she ran unopposed in the Marion County Treasurer’s race and Karen Schwanebeck was unopposed and reelected as the County Recorder.

Matt Schultz, Republican challenger for Iowa Secretary of State won in Marion County with 56.71%. Republican challenger Brenna Findley received 51.41% of total votes locally in the Iowa Attorney General race, but lost the statewide race as Democrat Tom Miller was elected to his eighth term. Republican incumbent Bill Northey received 71.17% of votes in Marion County and will keep his position as Iowa Secretary of Agriculture. Republican David Vaudt wins the race for Iowa Auditor with 65.61% and in the Iowa Treasurer race Republican David Jamison recieved 54.71% of total votes for a win in Marion County but lost overall to Democrat Michael Fitzgerald.

In the Supreme Court Judge retention vote 68.60% of Marion County voters voted NO to retain Judge Martha Ternus, 67.61% voted NO to retain Judge David Baker and 68.12% voted NO to retain Judge Michael Streit.

The Iowa Land and Water Legacy amendment passed with 52% of voters in Marion County voting YES and the constitutional convention failed with 69.47% of voters voting NO.

The results remain “unofficial” until they are canvassed and approved by the Board of Supervisors at their next regular meeting Monday morning.

For a full list of results for votes in Marion County CLICK HERE [1].