The One to Count On...

Team Honors Handed Out at Pella Boys Basketball Banquet

Posted: Friday, March 25th, 2011 at 5:59 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports-Eric Gotschall - information provided by Mark Core

The Pella boys basketball team reflected on the 2010-2011 season and the contributions by the players and coaches during the annual team banquet, held Thursday night at Pella High School. The Little Dutch had 19 wins overall on the season, including win streaks of 7 and 9 games, and never lost consecutive games. They also finished the regular season as the top-ranked team in Class 3-A in scoring, margin of victory, team assists and team steals.

The Pella boys landed five players on the All-Little Hawkeye Conference squad, and seniors Chris Bandstra and Kyle Newendorp were named to the Class 3-A All-Southeast Iowa Team by the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association.

The Little Dutch finished the season with an overall record of 19-4, reaching the Substate Finals before falling to Mount Pleasant. Pella was 12-2 in conference play; sharing the league title with Norwalk.

Below are the team awards and winners, as voted on by members of the team.

Perseverance Award: Rick Williamson

Strives greatly, regardless of the odds set against him; never gives up, and looks at disappointing circumstances as temporary setbacks in the process of victory.

Leadership Award: Josh Pringle

Uplifting influence on his teammates; understands that leadership is about lifting up the talents and spirits of the team to the highest possible level; and achieves greatness through the accomplishments of those around him.

Best Practice Player Award: Spencer Boeyink

Brings it to the floor every day, understanding that what happens in practice will determine what happens on game night; pushes himself and his teammates to the maximum of their potential.

Most Improved Player Award: Matt Van Sant

The player who has made the biggest strides toward becoming his very best; who has used hard work and a positive attitude to transform his game.

Most Inspirational Player Award: Josh Pringle

The player with great passion, who was the emotional heart and soul of the team; who had an infectious and uplifting team spirit.

Positive Attitude Award: Chris Bandstra

The player with the most consistently bright disposition, who was able to make hard work fun; who became the glue that held the team together during challenging times.