- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Knoxville Raceway Honors Champions And Capitani During Saturday Banquet

The Knoxville Raceway honored its champions from this season last night at the annual awards banquet. Carson McCarl, Clint Garner, and Danny Lasoski were recognized for their respective 305, 360, and 410 points championships. There were also other awards handed out as well. Among the awards were Kevin Swindell winning the 410 Rookie of the Year, Casey Friedrickson was the 360 Rookie of the Year, and McCarl won the 305 Rookie of the Year. It was also announced that retiring Race Director Ralph Capitani was honored with the annual Heritage Award and Sprint Car Hall of Fame Executive Director Bob Baker announced the Cappy was also voted the 410 Promoter of the Year. He was also presented with a golf cart by the fair board as a retirement gift.

Awards From Knoxville Raceway Banquet:
305 Jr. Fan Driver of the Year: Marty Stevenson
360 Jr. Fan Driver of the Year: Matt Moro
410 Jr. Fan Driver of the Year: Terry McCarl
Jr. Fan Member of the Year: Ben VandeKamp
Fan of the Year: Junior Briggs-Knoxville
Hard Luck Owner of the Year: Mike Vander Ecken
Heritage Award: Ralph Capitani
410 Promoter of the Year: Ralph Capitani
360 Owner of the Year: Ricky Montgomery
410 Owner of the Year: Bart Schneiderman
360 Most Improved Driver: Nate Van Haaften
410 Most Improved Driver: Austin McCarl
360 Sportsman of the Year: David Hall
410 Sportsman of the Year: Davey Heskin
410 Rookie of the Year: Kevin Swindell
360 Rookie of the Year: Casey Friedrickson
305 Rookie of the Year: Carson McCarl
305 Hard Charger: Jamie Ball
360 Hard Charger: Russ Hall
410 Hard Charger: Mark Dobmeier