- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Pella Grapplers Outmatch Clarke, Come Up Short to Centerville in Double-Dual Split

Another positive step toward more success on the mats was made last night by the Pella High wrestling team, as the Little Dutch earned a split in a double-dual with Centerville and Clarke.

Pella dominated the Indians 58-18, taking advantage of open weight classes and taking only three losses. Against the hosting Big Red, Pella still performed well, losing 48-24, but notching a pair of pins in the effort.

Double winners on the night for the Little Dutch were Levi Azinger at 113 pounds, Bryce Dawson at 220, and Houston Naaktgeboren at Heavyweight. The Pella wrestling team is off until Saturday when they’ll take part in an invitational at Williamsburg High School.

Centerville 48
Pella 24

106: Zine Stough (9) lost by fall in 2:31 vs Zach Bogle

113: Levi Azinger (10) won by pin in 4:21 vs Mike Cope

120: Chase Petty (9) lost by injury/default vs. Tanner Walker

126: David Wiley (11) lost by fall in 3:36 vs Eric Repaz

132: Kyle Langstraat (11) lost by decision 8-9 vs Brad Erwin

138: Zakk Belloma (12) lost by decision 4-7 vs Tyler Walker

145: Caleb LaFollette (9) lost by fall 5:42 Dalton Mosley

152: Mason Van Gorp (9) lost by fall in 1:55 vs Kent Hall

160: TJ Melhus (12) won by pin in :51 vs Branson Bachman

170: Johnny Blauw (11) lost by fall in :41 vs Richard England

182: Both Teams were Open

195: Logan Van Brogan (10) lost by fall in 1:14 vs Riley Denny

220: Bryce Dawson (10) won by forfeit

HWT: Houston Naaktgeboren (11) won by forfeit

Clarke-Osceola 18
Pella 58

106: Zine Stough (9) won by forfeit

113: Levi Azinger (10) won by forfeit

120: Calvin Van Donselaar (10) lost by fall 5:14 vs Chasen Selsor

126: David Wiley (11) won by major decision in 14-5 vs Brett Moffett

132: Kyle Langstraat (11) lost by fall in :18 vs Eric Robinson

138: Zakk Belloma (12) won by forfeit

145: Caleb LaFollette (9) won by pin in 5:27 vs Dalton Fry

152: Mason Van Gorp (9) won by forfeit

160: TJ Melhus (12) lost by fall in 1:48 vs Jacob Bair

170: Johnny Blauw (11) won by forfeit

182: Both teams were open

195: Logan Van Brogan (10) won by forfeit

220: Bryce Dawson (10) won by forfeit

HWT: Houston Naaktgeboren (11) won by pin in 1:06 vs Juan Vargas