The One to Count On...

Marion County Cagers Named to All-Little Hawkeye Conference Teams

Posted: Tuesday, March 6th, 2012 at 6:00 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports-Eric Gotschall

League Champion Pella Christian led the way with three First Team All-Little Hawkeye Conference selections to highlight this season’s all-conference teams for girls basketball.

Jasmin Schelhaas, Tayler Stursma and Paige Engbers were all chosen from the Lady Eagles to the First Team, along with Pella High’s Regan Cooper. All eight selections were unanimous.

On the Second Team, Pella Christian added seniors Christina Nolte and Cali Vink; seniors Bailey Vande Weerd and Madeline Meyer were chosen from Pella High; and Knoxville freshman Meredith Cunningham also garnered Second Team honors.

All-Conference Honorable Mention selections for the Little Hawkeye included Pella Christian’s Sami Veenstra; Maddy Scholten and Katie Sunderman of Pella High; and Knoxville’s Hanna Rosenkranz.

2011-12 Little Hawkeye Conference Girls All-Conference

First Team (all were unanimous)
Jasmin Schelhaas, SR, Pella Christian
Tayler Stursma, SR, Pella Christian
Paige Engbers, JR, Pella Christain
Regan Cooper, SR, Pella
Hali VanVelzen, JR, Norwalk
Kena Veldhuizen, JR, Oskaloosa
Kenzie Gott, SR, Oskaloosa
Kaylie Rhoads, JR, Newton

Second Team
Meredith Cunningham, FR, Knoxville (u)
Christina Nolte, SR, Pella Christian (u)
Cali Vink, SR, Pella Christian
Taylor Crawford, JR, Oskaloosa
Anneliese Wiltfang, SO, Grinnell (u)
Paige Lammers, JR, Norwalk (u)
Bailey Vande Weerd, SR, Pella (u)
Madeline Meyer, SR, Pella

Honorable Mention
Allie Christenson JR, Sarandyn Curtis SO, Oskaloosa
Maggie Wiltfang SR, Grinnell
Kristin Samson JR, Michelle Marquis JR, Newton
Shelby Seibert SR, Devin Brown JR, Norwalk
Sami Veenstra SR, Pella Christian
Maddy Scholten SR, Katie Sunderman SR, Pella
Hanna Rosenkranz SR, Knoxville