The One to Count On...

PCM Boys Race to Victory at Rocket Relays

Posted: Wednesday, April 25th, 2012 at 6:04 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports-Eric Gotschall

Seemingly every member of the PCM boys track and field team made a contribution to the team’s overall score, as the Mustangs held off host Eddyville-Blakesburg at the Rocket Relays. PCM tallied 139 points for first place, 28 in front of the Rockets and well in front of third-place Colfax-Mingo. The Pella Christian boys finished in sixth place with 64 points.

The Mustangs pocketed five gold medals, six silvers and three bronzes. They’ll host the Mustang Track Classic at PCM Thursday night. The Eagles were led by Derek Van Kooten, who swept the jumping events for Pella Christian’s only gold medals. They’ll run Thursday at Grinnell.

PCM Leaders:
First place:
400 Meter Dash – Jordan Van Roekel
400 Meter Hurdles – Jordan Van Roekel
Shuttle Hurdle Relay (Alex Amadeo, Jesse McAtee, Ethan Kain, Hunter Reed)
4×200 Meter Relay (Hutch Burns, Kody Wilkie, Bo Clymer, Sean O’Connor)
Distance Medley Relay (Kody Wilkie, Ethan Kain, Troy Vittetoe, Jesse McAtee)

2nd place:
High Jump – Jesse McAtee
Discus – Sam Munson
110 Meter Hurdles – Hunter Reed
400 Meter Dash – Andrew McCarthy
800 Meter Run – Jake VanWyk
4×400 Meter Relay (Hunter Reed, Ethan Kain, Bo Clymer, Andrew McCarthy)
4×800 Meter Relay (Jake VanWyk, Alex Dahms, Matt Chizek, Joe Foster)

3rd place:
110 Meter Hurdles – Jesse McAtee
100 Meter Dash – Sean O’Connor
200 Meter Dash – Bo Clymer

Pella Christian Leaders:

First place:
High Jump – Derek Van Kooten
Long Jump – Derek Van Kooten

2nd place:
200M – Derek Van Kooten
4 x 100 Meter Relay (Caleb Frederickson, Zach Van Zee, Derek Van Kooten, Caleb Morgan)
Distance Medley Relay (Zach Van Zee, Caleb Frederickson, Riley Stursma, Zack Giddings)

3rd place:
Long Jump – Jon Larson
High Jump – Caleb Morgan