The One to Count On...

Van Haaften; Garner Win 2nd Races Of The Season; Lasoski Wins 98th Career

Posted: Sunday, June 3rd, 2012 at 5:59 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports-Derek Carwell

With 12 new inductees to the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame looking on, the sprint car drivers of yesterday were treated to a show from the stars of today. Mike Van Haaften took advantage of Matthew Stelzer’s fuel problem to take be the first driver in any class this season to win back-to-back weeks. Clint Garner made his move count and got his second win of the season and took a strangle hold on the 360 points race. In the 410s, Danny Lasoski is now just two wins away from creating the 100 win club at the Knoxville Raceway. Lasoski used the bottom to pass Mark Dobmeier and set sail with just five laps left after a restart. Next week, the World of Outlaws invade the Knoxville Raceway for the final time until the Knoxville Nationals.