The One to Count On...

Henderson Is Winner On Night Three Of The Knoxville Nationals; Schatz WIns World Challenge

Posted: Saturday, August 11th, 2012 at 6:00 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports-Derek Cardwell

A new Friday format to the Knoxville Nationals was considered a rousing success by Raceway General Manager Toby Kruse and the top four finishers in last night’s A-Main put on a show that fans will not soon forget. Justin Henderson took the win to lock himself into tonight’s A-Main in the 17th starting position. Henderson took the lead from David Gravel on the 21st lap and led the final four circuits with Gravel trying every move in the book to get around him. Gravel settled for second and will start 18th in tonight’s A-Main. Henderson said he did not know what to expect from the new format…however he was happy with the outcome. That left Dale Blaney, Cody Darrah, and the rest of the field to fight it out for the final two transfer spots in the A. After all the dust settled, Blaney nipped Darrah at the line for third. Both will transfer into tonight’s final race with Blaney starting 19th and Darrah lining up 20th. Defending Nationals Winner Donny Schatz served notice that he is still the man to beat by winning the Speed Sport News World Challenge. He roared from his eighth starting position and won by a comfortable two seconds. There are just five races remaining at the Knoxville Nationals, starting with the E-Main tonight they will advance all the way to the 50-lap A-Main. You can hear the call on KNIA/KRLS and starting with Live Track Side at 5:30 and Race Night’s Live at 7:15.

A-Main Finishing Order (top 4 will fill in starting positions 17-20 in tonight’s championship race)

1. Justin Henderson
2. David Gravel
3. Dale Blaney
4. Cody Darrah

5. Kerry Madsen
6. Chad Kemenah
7. Terry McCarl
8. Dusty Zomer
9. Steve Kinser
10. Danny Holtgraver
11. Bronson Maeschen
12. Kevin Swindell
13. Wayne Johnson
14. Scott Winters
15. Danny Lasoski
16. Jamie Veal
17. Rager Phillips
18. Jac Haudenschild
19. Cap Henry
20. James McFadden
21. Greg Wilson
22. Jeff Swindell
23. Sam Hafertepe Jr.
24. Joey Moughan
Lap Leaders: Darrah 1-4, Gravel 5-20, Henderson 21-25.