The One to Count On...

Pittman wins Front Row Challenge, Larson claims USAC Non-Wing Prelim

Posted: Tuesday, August 7th, 2012 at 6:01 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports..Jamie Brockman

After not having the success he had hoped for in the 360 Nationals, Oklahoma driver Daryn Pittman led all 25 laps from his pole starting position and claimed his second career Front Row Challenge at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa last night and a cool $5000.

Pittman finished sixth in his heat, but would claim the pole by out running Brian Brown in the final King of the Hill match. The rest of the top five in the feature included Brown, Kyle Larson, Tim Kaeding and Knoxville regular Ryan Bunton. Another Knoxville regular Mark Dobmeier set quick time in qualifying with a fast lap of 15.404 while heat winners included David Gravel, Brian Brown and Brad Sweet.

A new addition to the race night this year was a full preliminary night for the non wing cars. Last years winner Kyle Larson led all 20 laps to get the win followed by Dave Darland, Robert Ballou, Brady Bacon and Levi Jones completed the top five. With their finish, Larson and Darland are now locked in to tonight’s USAC Ultimate Challenge A Main for a chance to win $15,000. Heat winners were Darland, Ballou, and Jac Haudenschild.

Action returns to the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa tonight with the USAC non wing Ultimate Challenge plus the 305 winged sprint cars .