- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Marion County Has Three New Deputies on Board

2340 [1]

The Marion County Sheriff’s Office has three new deputies that are servicing the community. Deputies Gaby Johnson, Reed Kious, and Jeremy Pettyjohn have all started their new roles. Sheriff Jason Sandholdt tells KNIA/KRLS News that Johnson started training at the academy this week. He took the other two deputies on rides this week, and they’ll be paired with lieutenants the next few weeks. Sandholdt explains it’s a good way to get them accustomed to the area and some of the jargon. Sandholdt adds that two of the new deputies will replace two departed deputies, including the retired Charlie Puyear. The third is a new, additional deputy position that was approved by the Board of Supervisors this year. Kious is from Waukon; Johnson is from Chariton.

Pettyjohn took a deputy position after spending five years with the Monroe Police Department, including the last two and a half as Chief. Pettyjohn says that he has had a great time working with everyone in Monroe. He adds that he grew up in Marion County, and always wanted to be a deputy, which is why he went after this new opportunity.