The One to Count On...

Several Sabers, Saints Earn District Honors

Posted: Monday, October 28th, 2013 at 5:59 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports - Cory Houser

Coming away with above-.500 regular seasons, both Melcher-Dallas and Twin Cedars had several athletes earn all-district honors in Eight Man football District 5. For the Sabers, Brent Parker was named the Offensive MVP of the district, and Hunter Embray was named Co-Defensive MVP. All-District players for the Sabers include Parker, Embray, Corey Harrell, Drew Carlson, Coy Moore, Garrett Pettyjohn, Dalton Garcia and Otis Roby. Chris Selix and Tim Loeffler each received honorable mentions. For the Saints, Chase Wetterling, Ty Schneider, Jacob Hoch and Alex Mitchell were named to the All-District team, while Brock Breese received an honorable mention. Twin Cedars hosts Lamoni this Wednesday in the first round of the playoffs, while Melcher-Dallas finished the season 5 – 4.