The One to Count On...

Central Athletes Earn Conference Honors

Posted: Friday, November 22nd, 2013 at 5:57 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports - Cory Houser

Following successful soccer and football seasons, several members of the Dutch received Iowa Conference honors for their efforts in the fall 2013 campaigns. On the soccer pitch, Alayna Bailey was named the conference women’s soccer offensive MVP. Bailey was joined by freshman goalie Sydney Lunardi on the first team all-conference, and Gabrielle Muse received an honorable mention. Bailey led the league with 19 goals in 20 games, with five of those tallies being game-winning goals. On the men’s side, midfielder Daniel Peacock was named to the second team all-Iowa Conference for his fourth straight season. Also receiving honorable mentions were Brian Fyfe, Aleksandar Glavas, Mark Hentschel and Tim Maggard. Danny Samson of the Central football team was selected as the Iowa Conference defensive MVP. Samson had 11.5 sacks in ten games to lead the league, and also led in tackles for loss with 21.5. The defensive lineman also had three of Central’s 11 blocked kicks this year. Joining Samson on the first team was Josh Osborn, Eric Larson, Mike Young and Kevin Sheldon. Making the second team from the Dutch were Travis Hook, Jake Edleman and Keith Rush, while Spencer Matlock and Jason Breon each received an honorable mention.