The One to Count On...

Pella Boys Finish Fifth in Montezuma Wrestling Tourney

Posted: Monday, December 9th, 2013 at 6:00 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports - Cory Houser

The Pella High wrestling team had eight grapplers place in the top five in Saturday’s Montezuma tournament. Levi Azinger was the lone champion for the Little Dutch in the 138-pound weight class; he went 3 – 0 on the day with a pin. Ethan Speltz and Chase Petty each came up with second place finishes. See a full list of results below. Pella High will next wrestle in a quad this Thursday against Colfax-Mingo, Nevada and South Hamilton.

Varsity Results-Montezuma Tournament

212.5 Iowa Valley

180 East Marshall

139.5 Lynville-Sully

131 Pleasantville

125 Pella

100 Lone Tree

89 Grinnell JV

88 Tri-County Montezuma

80 Gladbrook-Reinbeck-North Tama

10 North Mahaska

106: Ethan Speltz 2nd Place

-Won by pin in 3:04 vs. Paden Maschmann of TCM

-Lost by tech. fall 1-16 to Nick Meling of EM

132: Chase Petty 2nd Place

-Won by pin in :10 vs. Scott Morrison of GRNT

-Won by pin in 1:07 vs. Steven Sletcha of IV

-Lost by Major Decision of 7-10 to Zach Underhill of EM

138: Levi Azinger Champion

Won by pin in 1:32 vs. Jeffrey Hudson of LT
Won by Major Decision 8-2 vs. Max Upah of EM
Won by minor Decision of 2-0 vs. Drake Healey of IV

145: Calvin Van Donselaar 5th Place

Lost by fall in 1:51 to Alex Yedik of LT
Won by pin in 4:02 vs. Max Johnson of PV
Lost by fall in 2:12 to Drew Schossow of EM
Won by pin in 1:56 vs.Tristan Johannigmeier of GRNT

160: Jake Speltz 3rd Place

Won by pin in 4:45 vs. Isaiah McAlexander of G
Lost by Major Decision 8-18 vs. Nick Long of EM
Won by pin in :38 vs. Reece Strasser of NM
Won by pin 1:57 vs. Keaton Kane of LT

170: Tate Petty: 4th Place

-Won by pin in 2:49 vs. Drake DauBer of LT

-Lost by fall in 3:38 to Gunnar Sampson of PV

-Won by minor Decision vs. Clay Harper of TCM

-Won by Major Decision 10-6 vs. Parker Brown of GRNT

-Lost by fall in 5:46 to Gunnar Sampson of PV

182: Aston Messer: 4th Place

-Won by pin in 1:29 vs.Lane Walton of EM

Lost by fall in 1:34 to Nathan Wardenburg IV of IV
Won by pin in 2:44 vs. Jack Hardin of LS
Lost by fall in :16 to Kaden Moore of G

195: Keegan Poole: 5th Place

-Lost by fall in 3:27 to Jarred Young of EM

-Won by pin in 0:47 vs. Will Anthony of PV

-Lost by fall in 2:33 to Blake Wehrle of LV

-Won by pin in 3:19 vs. Jason Brau of G

“I am very happy with the way we wrestled today. We fought in every match and everyone placed top 5. We scored 55 points more as a team compared to last year with just one champion (Levi Azinger). It was a total team effort.” -Joe Burch

Junior Varsity Results at Bondurant-Farrar Tournament

120: Zine Stough

-Lost by fall in 1:11 vs. Storm Eastvold of Waukee

-Lost by fall in 1:27 vs. Kirkland Darling of Waukee

-Won by pin in 4:00 vs. Brandy Smith of South Tama

132: Jason Seo

-Lost by fall in 0:12 vs. Sebastion Sikora of Waukee

-Lost by fall in 3:45 vs. Deandre Vaughn of Bondurant-Farrar

-Lost by decision 5-6 vs. Dan Blocker of Waukee

132: Trent Schippers

-Won by pin in 1:09 vs. Russell Jennett of Gilbert

-Won by pin in 3:32 vs. Brandon Rivera of Bondurant-Farrar

-Lost by fall in 2:58 vs. Damion Wallace Jr. of Waukee

145: Cole Larson

-Won by pin in 0:26 vs. Colin Laswell of Waukee

-Lost by fall in 1:59 vs. Hunter Stumf of Waukee

-Lost by major decision 4-13 vs. Marshall Anderson of Saydel

138: Joe Blauw

-Lost by fall in 2:54 vs. Adam Stiltson of Waukee

-Won by pin in 1:29 vs. Dillon Giraves of South Tama

-Won by minor decision 11-4 vs. Colten Parsons of Bondurant-Farrar

145: Zach Van Donselaar

-Lost by fall in 2:00 vs. Nathan Weiss of South Tama

-Lost by fall in 4:55 vs. Peyton Bowers of Saydel

-Lost by fall in 0:28 vs. Tyler Kubiak of Waukee

160: Luke Roose

-Lost by fall in 2:42 vs. Stephen Downer of Waukee

-Lost by fall in 1:52 vs. Tanner Garrington of Waukee

-Won by pin in 1:43 vs. Simon Kiehast of Waukee

160: James Van Gorp

-Lost by minor decision 7-8 vs. Jorge Vargas of Waukee

-Lost by fall in 2:29 vs. Charles Kaufman of South Tama

-Won by pin in 5:29 vs. Pablo Marcaya of Bondurant-Farrar

160: Styon Kirby

-Lost by fall in 2:27 vs. Conner Ruggies of Bondurant-Farrar

-Won by pin vs. Elias Garcia of South Tama

-Won by pin in 0:18 vs. Brady Wrightsman of Waukee

195: Carter Terpstra

-Won by minor decision 6-3 vs. Chris McGuire of Gilbert

-Won by pin in 0:34 vs. Jordan Armstrong of Waukee

-Lost by decision of 7-9 vs. Aaron Johnson of Bondurant-Farrar

HWT: DeAngelo Wise

-Lost by fall in 3:20 vs. Alex Long of Waukee

-Won by pin in 3:51 vs. Jace Langholz of Saydel

-Lost by fall in 0:28 vs. Cory Irwin of Boone