The One to Count On...

More Honors for Saber, Trojan Baseball

Posted: Thursday, August 7th, 2014 at 5:55 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports - Cory Houser

The recognition of the hard work the Twin Cedars baseball team put in this year keeps rolling in for the Sabers. For the first time in school history, Twin Cedars will send players to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association All-Star Series which starts today. First baseman, Corey Harrell, and pitcher/shortstop, Coy Moore were each selected to play in the All-Star game, along with Pleasantville’s Patrick Sheehey. The Trojan is the first since Quinton Stanaford in 2009 to be picked for the game. The 2014 IHSBCA All-Star Series will be held at Duane Banks Field in Iowa City today through August 10. A full list of past area players to play in the series can be found below.

Local All-Stars by school:

Knoxville (7)
2006 Grant Grgurich
2003 Brian Joynt
2000 Zach Mahoney
1997 Scott Hoch
1996 Jason Mason
1993 Jason Messamaker
1991 Mike Conway

Pella Christian (4)
1990 Troy Vander Molten
1987 Jeff McDonough
1986 Greg Haagsma
1984 Steve Vermeer

Pleasantville (3)
2014 Patrick Sheehey
2009 Quinton Stanaford
2006 Seth Hockaday

Pella (2)
1995 Aaron Lubach
1988 Rich Schulte

Twin Cedars (2)
2014 Corey Harrell
2014 Coy Moore

PCM (1)
2004 Trent Kain

(List courtesy of Marcus Johnson)