The One to Count On...

Area Wrestlers Going Strong After Day One of State Tournament

Posted: Friday, February 17th, 2017 at 5:52 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS News - Nathan Sage

Day one of the 2017 Iowa High School State Wrestling Tournament is in the books and 10 area wrestlers are still in the win column to start day two.

The wrestlers who start day two in the win column are as follows:
113 Kobey Pritchard-Indianola
132 Lance Runyon-Indianola
170 Kade Kolarik-Indianola
285 Egan Lickiss-Indianola
285 Keegan Poole-Pella
145 Xavier Miller-PCM
170 Jarron Trausch-PCM
195 Matthew Landsperger-Knoxville
160 Griffen McBride-Pleasantville
220 Chaz Clark-Pleasantville

All Wrestlers in the win column still have a shot at a state championship.

Area Wrestlers who have been eliminated from state championship contention but are still in contention for a possible third place finish are
120 Connor Sexton-Indianola
160 Lucas Roland-PCM
152 Sawyer Phillips-Pleasantville
285 Will Anthony-Pleasantville

Only one area wrestlers has been completely eliminated from competition and that is
195 Reece Bowlin-Indianola who lost in both his match ups.
The state tournament will resume at 9 a.m. inside the Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.