The One to Count On...

State Wrestling Tournament Begins Today

Posted: Thursday, February 16th, 2017 at 6:01 am
Author: KNIA/KRLS Sports - Andrew Swadner

A total of fifteen area wrestlers have made it to the State Tournament at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines starting this afternoon.

For class 3A, six Indianola wrestlers will be competing in the opening session including Kobey Pritchard, Connor Sexton, Lance Runyon, Kade Kolarik, Reece Bowlin, Egan Lickiss, while Pella wrestler Keegan Poole is also competing at heavyweight.

In the second session, Class 1A will have a turn at the mats, and the four Pleasantville Trojan wrestlers who made the state tournament last year will have a shot to improve their final standings once more in 2017. Seniors Sawyer Phillips, Griffin McBride and Will Anthony, with junior Chaz Clark make up the afternoon session.

After the second break, Class 2A represented by PCM and Knoxville begin their tournament, with Knoxville’s only grappler Matthew Landsberger at 195lbs, and a trio of PCM wrestlers Xavier Miller, Jarron Trausch, and Lucas Roland will end the day.

A full list of all area wrestlers and their session times is listed below, and you can listen for full updates on all area wrestlers on KNIA/KRLS throughout the day, or go to

CLASS 3A 9:30am
113 Kobey Pritchard-Indianola vs. Hunter Foht-Dubuque Hempstead
120 Connor Sexton-Indianola vs. Noah Huhes-West Des Moines Valley
132 Lance Runyon-Indianola vs. Cade Moss-Johnston
170 Kade Kolarik-Indianola vs. Travis Johnston-Carlisle
195 Reece Bowlin-Indianola vs. Triston Licht-Fort Dodge
285 Egan Lickiss-Indianola vs. Omar Beqic-Waterloo East
285 Keegan Poole-Pella vs. Jesse Ramirez-Sioux City West

CLASS 2A 6:00pm
145 Xavier Miller-PCM vs. Tate Battani-Ballard
160 Lucas Roland-PCM vs. Kolton Bartow-Dubuque Walhert
170 Jarron Trausch-PCM vs. Mike Hoyle-Solon
195 Matthew Landsperger-Knoxville vs. Austin Winkel-Cent. Lyon/George Little Rock

CLASS 1A 1:30pm
152 Sawyer Phillips-Pleasantville vs. Brady Wilson-Logan Magnolia
160 Griffen McBride-Pleasantville vs. Tucker Franklin-Alburnett
220 Chaz Clark-Pleasantville vs. Clay Harper-Tri County
285 Will Anthony-Pleasantville vs. Matt Naig-Sibley Ocheyedan