- KNIA / KRLS - http://kniakrls.com -

Marion County Well Represented on All-State Football Team

Despite controversy and reported flaws in a new voting system, the Iowa Newspaper Association has released the players that made its all-state football teams, and several Marion County players were honored.

In class 3-A, Pella’s Avery Van Zee, Lucas Warner, Jake Heerema, Nick DeJong and Cade Van Vliet were named all-state.

In class 1-A, Pella Christian’s Noah Treimer, Alex Huisman and Nathan DeBruin were recognized, along with Pleasantville’s Hunter Tyree and Chaz Clark.

Wes Cumming and Cole Dustin were chosen in class 2-A, and Twin Cedars’ Dakota Pinegar was all-state in 8-Player.

Because of the problems with the voting system, the entire all-state team was not released, but local papers were encouraged to recognize their own area athletes. This report contains a compilation of information from the Pella Chronicle, Knoxville Journal Express and Newton Daily News.